Skip to main content

Meet the team

The National Awards Advisory Group

The National Awards Advisory Group (NAAG) provides support and guidance to local Scouting with awards and recognitions of service, as well as considering the nominations for specific awards and making recommendations to the Chief Scout.

They also monitor the rules and procedures concerning awards and recognition.

Graham Haddock, NAAG Chair

Graham has been a member of the Scout Association since the age of 8. He graduated in Medicine from the University of Glasgow in 1982 and trained in Surgery and Paediatric Surgery in Glasgow, Edinburgh and Toronto, Canada.

Graham recently retired as a Consultant Neonatal and Paediatric Surgeon at the Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow. He is an Honorary Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Glasgow, is the Deputy Medical Director at NHS Education for Scotland and chairs their Scottish Surgical Training Board.

Graham was Chief Commissioner of Scotland for seven years until July 2018. He was elected as a UK Trustee in September 2019 and is the Project Sponsor for a redesign of our adult learning programme. He was previously the UK Commissioner for Explorer Scouts and Deputy UK Contingent Leader to the 20th World Scout Jamboree, Thailand.

You can contact Graham on

Robert Cashman, NAAG Member

Robert has been involved with Scouting since joining as a Cub Scout, and has now spent seven years in a range of leadership and committee roles.

Robert is currently Chair of West London District, and has been involved with the Community Impact Group and Programme Support Team at UK Headquarters. Outside of Scouting, Robert works in higher education.

You can contact Robert on

Catrin Pink, NAAG Member

Catrin first became involved in Scouting in 2012 as a young leader with Beavers. She is now a Trustee for ScoutsCymru, and on the UK Rep Pool in addition to her NAAG role, and has been on the International Service Team for the last two World Scout Jamborees.

Catrin is a Diagnostic Radiographer, working in the Great Western Hospital. While not at work or meetings, she enjoys experimenting with cooking, attempting to garden, and walking in the countryside.

You can contact Catrin on

Graeme Popay, NAAG Member

Graeme has been a Scout since 1973 but more recently is an Assistant Explorer Scout Leader, member of the District Executive and District Appointments Committee and also sits on the County Executive for Northumberland. Graeme enjoys International Scouting and has attended five World Scout Jamborees as well as EuroJam.

Professionally Graeme is the Director of Estates and Facilities for Northumberland College. He is also a School Governor and a Parish Councillor.

Scouting is very important to Graeme who thinks Baden-Powell ideas/quotes are timeless. His favourite BP quote is "Opportunity is a train that makes very few stops", in other words, don’t wait for opportunity to knock on your door!

You can contact Graeme on

Michael Rollinson, NAAG Member

Michael has been a member of The Scouts since 1997, when he joined his local Beaver Colony. He holds roles both locally, as a Group Scout Leader, and nationally. Michael sat on the National Board of Trustee until 2015 and was a Trustee of GMW Scouts until 2018.

Professionally, Michael is a Geography Teacher and Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Manager in Manchester. Michael is a Mountain Leader and enjoys hill-walking, mountaineering and climbing.

You can contact Michael on

Alan Seeley, NAAG Member

Alan is currently the Vice Chair of Merseyside Scouts and Chair of AAC. Alan’s previous roles include CC, Deputy CC, ACC AT, DC, GSL as well as a Cub Scout Leader, all in Merseyside.

Married to Carolyn, with two (grown up) children and professionally an Employee Affairs Manager with Ford of Britain, Alan is also the current Chairman of Knowsley Chamber of Commerce.

Alan enjoys watching sport of all types with football (a lifelong Everton supporter) and Motor Racing topping the bill.

You can contact Alan on

Awards Advisory Groups

Discover their role