Skip to main content

Volunteering at Scouts is changing to help us reach more young people

Volunteering is changing to help us reach more young people

Volunteering is changing at Scouts. Read more

Discover what this means

Beaver Awards

You might already have earned some Squirrel awards, you'll earn even more as a Beaver.

From your very first day at Squirrels to your last day at Explorers, being a Scout is all about trying new things and steadily growing strong.

Start with your membership badge and climb all the way up. You can work towards as many as you like, at your own pace. And by the time you move on to Cubs, you'll have a whole host of achievements under your belt. And once you've earned your badges, here's where to sew them on.

Are you ready to be a Beaver? Let's get stuck in. 

Chief Scout's Bronze Award

This is the highest award a Beaver can earn, and it's something you work on gradually throughout your whole time in the section. To get your hands on one, you’ll need complete all of the Challenge Awards, as well as any four Activity Badges of your choice (including Staged Activity Badges).

Challenge Awards

Challenge Awards are all about stepping outside your comfort zone. Try out something you wouldn't normally be interested in. Take the lead on something that scares you. Along the way, you'll unlock hidden talents and stand tall.

Membership Award

When you make your promise, you'll be given your Membership Award. It features a picture of the fleur de lis - an international symbol, worn by Scouts all over the world. 

Joining In Award

Joining In Awards celebrate every year you spend with us. If you're an eager Beaver, you can collect up to two during your time in the section.

Leadership Stripes

Within their Colony, Beavers are part of a Lodge. A Lodge is a smaller group of Beavers, sometimes headed up by a peer leader. These peer leaders may be known as Lodge Leaders, Lodge Friends, Junior Leaders or another name.

Peer leaders are Beavers chosen to take on extra responsibilities, such as helping new starters settle in, or helping run games. This is usually for one term, so that everyone has chance to have a go. When they've finished their time as peer leader, they can proudly wear their leadership stripes to celebrate their hard work.

Moving On

Between the ages of 7½ and 8½, it's usually time for Beavers to become Cubs. Complete this award to get to know your new leaders, make new friends and get a taste of what Cubs is really like before the big move. 

YouShape Award

At Scouts, young people learn how to speak up and take the lead. That’s what the new YouShape Award is all about.

The Earth Tribe Award

An inspiring global environmental challenge where you can learn what it takes to become a Planet Champion.

Earth Tribe badge for the Beaver section, which is round with colourful shapes and the World Scout logo in the middle.