Skip to main content

National honours

People do amazing work in the Scouts and beyond, and a wonderful way to recognise and reward them for this is nominating them for a national honour.

National honours are awarded on merit, for exceptional achievement or commitment to service to Britain and recipients will generally have made life better for other people or be outstanding at what they do.

National honours and other awards

Scouts Good Service awards recognise outstanding contributions made by our volunteers within the Scouts but some individuals/Groups could also be nominated for a national honour or other external awards and the the National Honours Subgroup (NHSG) would be happy to chat to you and provide further support/guidance if you're thinking about making a nomination for one of these awards.

Learn more about the different kinds of national honours.

Learn more about other external awards.

National Honours Subgroup Terms of Reference

As well as approving the Scouts awards, the National Awards Advisory Group (NAAG) has responsibility for promoting external awards schemes, including national honours and encouraging proposed nominations to be submitted to these schemes for members of the Scouts. The NAAG does this via the National Honours Subgroup (NHSG).

Read the National Honours Subgroup (Terms of Reference) to find out more.

Further information

To watch in full screen, double click the video

The National Honours Subgroup

Meet the National Honours Subgroup and find out how to contact them.

Meet the team

Contacting a Lord Lieutenant or Deputy Lieutenant

Read the guidance

National Honours Subgroup Terms of Reference

Read the terms of reference