Skip to main content

Policy, Organisation and Rules

5. The Scout County

Scouting in the United Kingdom is organised in Scout Groups, Scout Districts, Scout Counties and Country Headquarters. These ‘units’ of Scouting provide:

  • support
  • channels for communication
  • opportunities for youth Members and Leaders to make decisions and take responsibility
  • functional units through which the design and delivery of the programme can be best achieved

A Scout County normally comprises several Scout Districts. However, some Counties, in effect, have no Districts – in these cases the County takes on the responsibilities of the District, including the District Executive Committee.

Additionally, the County may have one or more County Scout Active Support Units. In exceptional circumstances where District Scout Networks are not feasible, the County may have one County Scout Network which should follow the rules and guidance of a District Scout Network.